Rule 49.10 of the Nevada Supreme Court Rules allows limited practice for government attorneys and in-house counsel. Certified attorneys are not members of the Nevada Bar.
Attorneys must be:
Attorneys may render legal advice and services to, and communicate and negotiate with third persons on behalf of, the attorney’s employer, other employees, or the employer’s subsidiaries and affiliates in matters related to the business of the employer.
Attorneys cannot render legal advice or services to the public or anyone other than the attorney’s employer, other employees, or employer’s subsidiaries and affiliates.
Attorneys cannot appear as a counsel of record for the employer in Nevada in any court, before any administrative or political agency, or in any arbitration, mediation, or alternative dispute resolution proceeding that is court ordered, court annexed, or authorized by law or administrative rule.
Attorneys also cannot hold themselves out to the public as an attorney authorized or engaged in the activities above. All business cards and employer letterhead used by an attorney certified under this rule in Nevada must clearly indicate the attorney is certified to practice in Nevada as governmental or in-house counsel.
Attorneys are subject to the jurisdiction of the courts and disciplinary boards of Nevada to the same extent as Nevada attorneys. Attorneys must comply with the CLE requirements as may be prescribed for active members of the Nevada Bar.
Application and Certification
Attorneys are required to file an Application with the following documents with the Nevada Bar at its Las Vegas office:
Attorneys are required to submit an annual fee equivalent to the annual membership dues by active members of the Nevada Bar of comparable longevity.
On or before March 1 of each year, attorneys must certify to the Nevada Bar that:
Attorneys failing to renew are suspended from practicing law after 30 days from the anniversary date. Attorneys may be reinstated from suspension upon compliance with the renewal rules and a late penalty fee of $50.
Certification terminates when the attorney ceases to be employed by the employer submitting the Employer Affidavit. The employer must promptly notify the Nevada Bar in writing whenever the attorney’s employment ceases. Attorneys must reapply for admission.