Louisiana House Counsel

Section 14 of the Louisiana Admission Rules allows attorneys admitted to another jurisdiction to receive a limited license to practice law in Louisiana when employed in Louisiana exclusively for a corporation, its subsidiaries or affiliates, an association, and/or a business that consists of activities other than the practice of law or the provision of legal services.

Attorneys may only practice exclusively for their employer and must be admitted Louisiana Pro Hac Vice for any court appearances.

Attorneys are subject to the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct and the disciplinary authority of the courts and the Louisiana Attorney Disciplinary Board. Attorneys must also comply with the CLE requirements, annual registration requirements, and are required to pay the annual Disciplinary Assessment required of attorneys admitted to practice three years or more as well as the Louisiana State Bar Association annual dues.

Attorneys are required to file an Application for a limited license with the Committee on Bar Admissions of the Louisiana Supreme Court. The Application includes:

  • A sworn statement that either:
    • No complaints with any disciplinary authority are pending in any jurisdiction and that no charges or professional misconduct are pending against the applicant in any jurisdiction; or
    • If any complaints or charges are pending, full details of the complaints or charges and their current status.
  • Information that indicates the applicant meets the requirements of Section 3(a)-(d). These requirements include:
    • Reaching the age of 18 years old at the date of admission.
    • Being a citizen of the United States, an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence, or an alien otherwise authorized to work lawfully in the United States.
    • Demonstrating good moral character and fitness.
    • Being a graduate of a law school located in the United States or its territories that is accredited by the ABA on the date when the degree was conferred. If the applicant is a graduate of a law school outside of the United States or itsĀ  territories, the applicant must submit an application for an equivalency determination in accordance with Section 6 of the rules.
  • Employer Affidavit. An Employer Affidavit from an officer, director, or general counsel of the applicant’s employer in Louisiana attesting that the applicant is employed as a lawyer exclusively for the employer, the applicant is of good moral character, and that the nature of employment conforms to the requirements of house counsel rules.
  • The NCBE Character of Bar Examiners Character Report ($300).
    • A prior NCBE character report may be used if the applicant has completed a report within three years of the application for limited licensure. The applicant must attach the prior report.
  • The nonrefundable fee.

The Committee on Bar Admission may approve the application and grant a limited license. The license is not a matter of right, and applicants may appeal if rejected.

Limited licenses are valid for four years and may be renewed by filing the written application required by the Committee. The renewal application must be filed at least 90 days prior to the expiration of the license. The Court may permit late filing upon a showing of good cause. The application requirements are the same as above.

The license is automatically terminated if the attorney is admitted to the practice of law in Louisiana. The license is automatically suspended if the lawyer’s employment is terminated. If the lawyer is immediately employed by a new employer and that employer files a new affidavit, the limited license may be reinstated for the remainder of the period of four years.