Section 7(a) of the Vermont Rules on Admission governs admission to the Vermont Bar for attorneys licensed in other jurisdictions. The process in Vermont is called Admission Without Exam. Attorneys must be admitted to another United States jurisdiction and must have been actively engaged in the practice of law for five of the preceding 10 years.
Any part of the five-year practice requirement is waived for attorneys licensed in jurisdictions, where the attorney has practiced for at least six months, which require fewer than five years of admission for Vermont attorneys. At the time of the application, the attorney must have actively engaged in the practice of law for at least three of the past ten years in one or more United States jurisdictions and meet the other requirements for admission.
***Attorneys applying for Admission Without Exam in Vermont may be eligible to practice law while the application is pending through the Vermont Law Student Rules.
Vermont has special admission rules for attorneys admitted in Maine or New Hampshire. Attorneys admitted in Maine or New Hampshire should consult both the general Admission on Motion rules and the special rules for Maine or New Hampshire. (The primary difference is the duration practice requirement, which is reduced to three years, and a 15-hour CLE requirement replaces the three-month Vermont clerkship requirement.)
|Attorneys from these states my be Admitted on Motion in Vermont|
|Maine and New Hampshire have special reciprocity rules with Vermont|
The process in Vermont is based on partial bar reciprocity. Unless the attorney is from Maine or New Hampshire, the process is not based on reciprocity. Attorneys meeting the requirements may apply for admission.
Vermont’s additional reciprocity requirements include:
Vermont Clerkship. Attorneys are required to complete a three-month clerkship in Vermont prior to admission. The clerkship must be in the office of a judge or attorney that has been a member of the Vermont Bar for at least three years and must be completed within three years of filing the petition for admission. Attorneys may be paid for the clerkship.
The clerkship can be completed through a one-week or two-week format. One-week of study consists of at least 25 hours in a seven-day period for 12 weeks. Two-weeks of study consists of at least 30 hours in a fourteen-day period for 24 weeks.
Law Degree. Attorneys do not have to be graduates of an ABA approved law school.
Character and Fitness. Attorneys must meet the applicable character and fitness standards.
Good Standing and Prior Bar Exam. Attorneys must be currently licensed to practice and cannot be under suspension or revocation in any jurisdiction for disciplinary reasons.
Practice of Law. Attorneys must be admitted to another jurisdiction of the United States and must have been actively engaged in the practice of law for five of the preceding ten years. Any part of the five-year practice requirement is waived to the extent that another jurisdiction where the attorney has practiced for at least six months requires fewer than five years of admission for Vermont attorneys. At the time of the application, the attorney must have actively engaged in the practice of law for at least three of the past ten years in one or more United States jurisdiction and meet the other requirements for admission.
“Practice of law” is 25 hours of qualifying work in a seven-day period and includes:
MPRE. The Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE) is not required.
Attorneys eligible for Admission Without Exam in Vermont must complete the Application. Applications may be filed at any time. Applications take at least three months to process. Vermont recommends attorneys apply for admission prior to starting the required clerkship.